Welcome to the St. Andrews Woman's Club

The St. Andrews Woman’s Club was organized by 21 women interested in creating a better community in the growing St. Andrews area of the Midlands. On March 15, 1963, the club was chartered by the South Carolina Federation of Women’s Clubs. In 1990, SCFWC became the General Federation of Women’s Clubs of South Carolina. St. Andrews Woman’s Club has been an active member in GFWC-SC with large representation at conventions, hosting state and district functions, and many members serving at the state level.

Club member, Marian St. Clair, served as president of GFWC-SC from 2002-2004, and is the current GFWC Second Vice President; she previously served as GFWC Secretary and Treasurer. Club member, Kristin Fields is the current GFWC-SC Secretary; she previously served as GFWC-SC Treasurer.  Club member, Laurie O‘Kelly, served as GFWC-SC President for the 2010-2012 term and she is now serving as GFWC-SC Elections Committee. Club member, Kaye Hunke is currently serving as Central District President for the 2014-2016 term.  Membership increased and from 1965 through 1973, the club operated two divisions, Morning and Evening, with separate programs and projects. Membership has been fostered through the years with annual membership teas, the creation of SAWC Membership pins, and awards such as the annual Outstanding Clubwoman Award established in 1972 and the Dianne McCarty Spirit Award established in 1995.  The club celebrated its 20th, 25th, and 30th anniversaries with parties at GFWC-SC Headquarters and set aside a time capsule in its 25th year, which was opened in August 1998.  The club will celebrate its 50th anniversary this year, a celebration is planned to invite back all former members. (Read More)